And yes as I’m sure my wife would be the first to point out I wear a cross around my neck! And what is the cross for dickhead I can hear her saying if it is not for Jesus?

And yes, as I’m sure my wife would be the first to point out, I wear a cross around my neck! And what is the cross for, dickhead, I can hear her saying, if it is not for Jesus? This is a complicated question & my attempts to answer it in the past have always met with her incredulous derision; (though my haircuts, my clothes, almost everything about me always met with her incredulous derision). I think he was a great man, a great human being, and by all means celebrate his birthday and mark his death, and even his “rebirth” if you want, but don’t graft it on to the old Pagan festival. That is mendacious. I wear a cross as it is a sign of Western Europe, of “Christendom”, of the geographical location and the culture I come from, like it or not, for all the elements of that culture I like or do not like, it is a sign of where I come from, where I am, the culture that is engrained in us, the culture that is in our DNA as Europeans. Just because I wear a cross doesn’t mean Christ-mas means anything to me but an appalling ersatz plastic fake. Or rather, I USED to wear a cross, until one of the roving band of Moroccan pickpockets that Brussels is renowned for tried to rip it from around my neck, and the chain snapped but fortunately fell down INSIDE my jumper and nestled in my belly button from where I was able to later safely retrieve it; I could buy a new chain for it but there is no point when I spend so much of my time in Brussels and I refuse to wear anything gold as they will just try and snatch it from me again; better I just keep it safely in a deep pocket so it is at least with me.
Leave a Reply

