Stupidly I’ve been saying they want to get rid of the street girls in the Rue des Commerçants but now I discover it has already in fact happened?

Stupidly I’ve been saying they want to get rid of the street girls in the Rue des Commerçants but now I discover it has already in fact happened? I was reading they have moved to the Chaussée d’Anvers, Boulevard Baudouin, and Albert II Laan. The girls I see in the Rue des Commerçants are just the die-hard remnants who have flouted the new instructions? Prostitution is not illegal in Belgium, and street prostitution is not illegal, so I’m not quite sure by what device they can make them move. That would explain why even in summer I was shocked to see so few girls in the Rue des Commerçants. By then they were probably already in the new place (just about 100 yards north). And yet why have I never SEEN any street girls in those places? Last night after leaving Fifth Avenue I made a point of walking along the entire length of the Boulevard Baudouin back to Brussels Grill and I never saw a single girl. I will actually go up the Chaussée d’Anvers and Albert II Laan today to look harder. 1128 Tuesday morning. Proper raining.
Leave a Reply

