Increasingly as I get older I find myself mourning BUILDINGS that I have lost

Increasingly as I get older I find myself mourning BUILDINGS that I have lost, been knocked down. There are very few people I can honestly say I miss, perhaps, let me think, 1, 2, half a dozen at most, but there are so many BUILDINGS I mourn, and go to make pilgrimages to the holes in the ground where they used to stand. To start off with the WHOLE of pre-war Berlin. It breaks my heart to look at how beautiful Berlin used to be (and Dresden and Munich and Hamburg and everywhere else in Germany sadly). My lost Romanisches Cafe, my lost Eden Hotel where Louise Brooks stayed while filming Pandora’s Box. More recently my own personal dives, my lost Mon Cheri, Golden Gate, Hanky Panky, etc etc etc. In Vienna my lost Pour Platin and apartment building which was site of Milena’s flat in Bad Timing. Thank goodness the Night Porter hotel is still there at least. Something wrong that I miss and mourn buildings more than people? All the memories in those buildings, all the laughter, love and fantastic sex. And now they are gone.

Leave a Reply

